We have silently observed over a critical bug in the iOS 4.3 betas, and now that a third beta has launched, with the bug present, we think it’s a good time to share it. When you go to update your applications through the App Store update tool, you are prompted to put in your password to confirm. In iOS 4.3, when you click the cancel button on the password input popup, your homescreen layout will often revert to Apple’s default layout, and you will lose all of your folders.  Sux.

This is a critical bug and we’ve heard from some other readers who have experienced it. So here’s a warning for everybody reading this, and hopefully iOS 4.3 does not drop for the public tomorrow with the bug present.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

You’re reading 9to5Mac — experts who break news about Apple and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Mac on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author

Mark Gurman's favorite gear