Whether you are selling your iPad, having issues, or just want a fresh start, there are a variety of reasons you may need to reset it. Let’s take a look at how to delete everything from your iPad and restore it to factory settings.

AirPods

An important thing to keep in mind as you’re working on resetting your iPad is that you’ll need to be connected to a Wi-Fi or cellular network and know your Apple ID password (the one you’re using for iCloud) if you have Find My iPad enabled.

Also, make sure you have your iPad backed up or have your important information saved somewhere before you reset your device.

Before going through the process of resetting your iPad it’s best to sign out of the App Store and iCloud (although iOS will force you to sign out of iCloud later if you have Find My iPad turned on).

How to reset an iPad and erase all content

  1. Tap on Settings and then tap on General
  2. Swipe down to the very bottom and tap on Reset
  3. Tap Erase All Content and Settings, enter your passcode (if you have one)
  4. Tap Erase iPad, Tap Erase iPad again to confirm
  5. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Erase

At this point all the information on your iPad has been erased and you should see the iOS welcome screen like when you first purchased your iPad. You’re good to hand your device to someone else, restore from a backup, or set up your iPad as new.

Here is a screenshot walkthrough of the above process: Image showing how to reset an iPad in iOS Settings

Image showing how to erase an iPad in Settings

If you don’t have a passcode on your iPad or have Find My iPad turned off, you won’t see those steps in the reset process. For more help with your Apple devices, check out our how to guide and the resources below.


About the Author

Michael Potuck's favorite gear