If you want to watch this evening’s presidential election results roll in – if only to be sure that the election is finally over – you have a wide range of options open to you beyond traditional broadcast TV …

Apple TV, iPad & iPhone

The easiest way to watch is via one of the broadcast TV network news apps available without a cable subscription. The first two don’t even require registration – just open the app and start streaming.

ABC News – instant access without registration on iPhone, iPad or Apple TV.

CBS News – also instant access without registration on iPhone, iPad or Apple TV.

NBC News – no cable subscription needed on iPhone, iPad or Apple TV.

You’ll find many other apps available on the App Store, including Bloomberg, CNN, Reuters and the Washington Post.

Mac

You of course have access to all the same sources on your Mac through the various broadcaster websites. Demand is likely to be heavy, so you may want to have several tabs open with different feeds, muting the tabs you’re not watching in case one goes out and you need to switch (though this approach may not be advisable if you have a capped data plan).

ABC News

CBS News

NBC News

Reuters TV

There are also YouTube streams from many broadcasters, including BloombergNBC News, PBS and The Washington Post.

Politico also has its own livestream as well as an interactive map of results.

Other countries

For those watching in other countries, you may get a more reliable feed from within your own country. In the UK, for example, there will be live coverage on the BBC News site. If you have recommended sites for other countries, please share them in the comments.

Timings

Three New Hampshire towns aside, who voted just after midnight, the first polls close in Indiana and Kentucky at 6pm ET/3pm PT/11pm UK/midnight Western Europe, and you can expect breathless coverage of exit polls from that point on.

Polls close in California at 11pm ET/8pm PT/4am UK/5am Western Europe, which is when we can start expecting TV networks to start calling the results – though the official results won’t be known until all the ballots are counted, which could take several days.

President Obama of course remains in office until Inauguration Day on January 20th, when the president-elect officially takes office.

Image: New York Times