Bluetooth SIG Board appoints new officers including Apple’s Joakim Linde

The Bluetooth SIG Board of Directors today announced the appointment of new officers including current board member Joakim Linde, a Sr. Wireless Architect at Apple, appointed as Secretary of the board. Linde joins other new officers appointed today including Toby Nixon of Microsoft as Chairman and Magnus Olsson of Ericsson AB as Vice-chairman.

Linde takes over Toby Nixon’s role as secretary as Nixon becomes Chairman of the board, while the previous Vice Chairman, James Rutledge of Lenovo, is no longer listed as a board member. The previous Chairman, Svein-Egil Nielsen of Nordic Semiconductor, is still listed as a board member following the new appointments.

“The Bluetooth SIG encourages its members to work together for the betterment of Bluetooth® wireless technology—a wireless solution uniquely poised to serve as the backbone of the Internet of Things (IoT),” said Mark Powell, executive director of the Bluetooth SIG. “Our Board of Directors and Associate members are volunteers who dedicate their time, thought leadership, and expertise to ensure Bluetooth remains the benchmark standard for wireless technology. We appreciate their guidance and look forward to working with Toby, Magnus, and Joakim in their new roles.”

While Linde has long been a member of the Bluetooth SIG board of directors, the new role gives Apple a higher strategic position among the team tasked with “guiding and promoting the Bluetooth wireless standard.” Linde has been a Senior Wireless Architect at Apple since 2010 and before that was the Director of Software at Nvidia.