Following reports that Apple Pay will launch in Japan next year, the service today has expanded to a handful of new banks in the United States. Apple today updated its Apple Pay support document to add over 20 new banks and credit unions in the United States.

Sylvania HomeKit Light Strip

The new Apple Pay banks and credit unions come following an expansion to dozens of new institutions last month. The new banks and credit unions for September are listed below:

  1. First National Bank of Aspermont
  2. Patterson State Bank
  3. Allegiance Credit Union
  4. First New York Federal Credit Union
  5. Pioneer Bank FSB
  6. Anchor D Bank
  7. Glendale Federal Credit Union
  8. Bank of the West
  9. Bay Atlantic Federal Credit Union
  10. BayCoast Bank
  11. Beacon Credit Union
  12. BNC National Bank
  13. Southern Mass Credit Union
  14. JD Bank
  15. Citizen’s Bank of Hickman
  16. Lafayette Community Bank
  17. TAPCO Credit Union
  18. Coastway Community Bank
  19. Community West Credit Union
  20. McClain Bank
  21. CrossFirst Bank
  22. United Community Bank (LA)
  23. Midland National Bank
  24. Moven
  25. Erie Federal Credit Union
  26. First Farmers

Apple Pay is compatible with the iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus, iPhone 6s, iPhone 6s Plus, iPhone SE, Apple Watch, iPad mini 4, iPad Air 2, and both iPad Pro models. On the iPhone, Apple Pay can be set up by opening the Wallet app, tapping the plus (+) icon in the upper right corner, and then following the prompts.

To add a debit or credit card to Apple Pay on the Apple Watch, head into the Apple Watch app on your iPhone and find the Wallet & Apple Pay section, then the “Add Credit or Debit Card” section.

As always, you can view the full list of supported retailers on the Apple Pay website, while the list of supported banks is available on Apple’s support site.

About the Author