WWDC 2014

If you have even the slightest inclination to attend the Apple Worldwide Developers Conference, you probably want to throw your name in the hat for your chance to purchase a ticket before the window closes in less than four hours.

Unlike years prior, Apple has decidedly opted for a random selection lottery system of sorts to determine who will have the opportunity to purchase a coveted ticket to Apple’s big conference.

Apple announced the event details last Thursday as well as its new system for purchasing a ticket. Registered developers have been able to request a ticket, which cost $1599, since last Thursday, and that window to enroll closes today at 10 am PST/1 pm EST.

In previous years, Apple has sold out of tickets to its conference at an increasingly rapid rate, less than 2 minutes last year, leaving many developers feeling excluded from the process of attending. For its part, Apple has made videos of its sessions for developers available must faster in recent years for those not able to make the trip.

For developers that do request a ticket, Apple says it will notify prospective attendees of their status by 5 pm PST/ 8 pm EST.

WWDC is scheduled for June 2nd in San Francisco, California, where Apple is expected to unveil iOS 8, the next version of OS X, and more.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s