Apple today expanded its App Store Volume Purchase Program (VPP) to 16 important new regions. Here are the new areas:

Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, and United Arab Emirates.

Before today, the program, was only available in major Apple regions such as the United States, Canada, New Zealand, Italy, France, and Germany. In addition to updating its website with information regarding the expansion, Apple has begun notifying developers via email.

Apple first launched the VPP program in mid-2011 as a way for businesses and educational institutions to purchase applications at bulk at a discounted rate. Developers must manually choose to make their apps available for volume purchases. Last year, Apple began promoting the program for Mac apps.

In early July, Apple announced that today’s expansion was in the works.

About the Author

Mark Gurman's favorite gear