Screen Shot 2015-05-14 at 2.56.14 PM

A bug appearing for a small number users on iCloud.com may allow them to temporarily track and make changes to Macs belonging to other users, according to reports appearing on Twitter. Users have noted that Macs with names they don’t recognize recently started appearing in the device list on the Find My iPhone web service, allowing them to remotely lock or erase the computers in some cases, or just play a sound in others.

Update: The exact nature of the problem is difficult to pin down, but a person aware of the issue says that this is likely related to users not properly erasing their Macs before transferring them to someone else. Sources have told us that following the steps on this Apple help document should fix it. That said, we’re still investigating since some users don’t seem to fall into that category, and have reached out to Apple for more information.

Some users also speculate that perhaps these are used Macs that were sold to someone else and are now pinging the wrong iCloud account. It’s certainly a possibility that this could be the source of the confusion, since Find My Mac configuration is saved on a computer even after the operating system has been reinstalled.

[tweet https://twitter.com/cabel/status/598915699675770882 align=’center’]

That theory doesn’t seem to always hold up in this case, however, since some users seeing the problem claim to have never sold their Mac to a friend.

[tweet https://twitter.com/dogweather/status/598901261509873665 align=’left’ width=’345′] [tweet https://twitter.com/senior/status/598921173175406593 align=’right’ width=’345′]

[tweet https://twitter.com/siracusa/status/598907250825175040 align=’left’ width=’345′] [tweet https://twitter.com/holaMau/status/598907684461551617 align=’left’ hide_thread=’true’ width=’345′] [tweet https://twitter.com/jasonmp85/status/598907866477502464 align=’right’ hide_thread=’true’ width=’345′]

[tweet https://twitter.com/siracusa/status/598923335435706369 align=’center’ hide_thread=’true’ width=’700′]

At least one user reports knowing the person whose Mac showed up on his account, so the glitch may not be entirely random. Other affected machines could be used computers or loaners (as suggested by John Siracusa above) that simply didn’t get wiped from the user’s iCloud account properly.

[tweet https://twitter.com/jasonpbecker/status/598909538088001536 align=’center’ hide_thread=’true’]

Several of us here at 9to5Mac have checked our own accounts and found nothing out of the ordinary. It seems likely that this is simply a case of machines that were previously linked to an iCloud account showing up again in error, and not necessarily a widespread issue allowing anyone to hijack a random stranger’s Mac.

[tweet https://twitter.com/dogweather/status/598922102649987072 align=’center’ hide_thread=’true’]

One of the users reporting the issue above also postulates that this bug could be connected to him being in the area shown on the map yesterday, though this solution seems unlikely. In any case, if you happen to spot a strange Mac listed on your iCloud account, the best thing to do is simply leave it alone.

Some users may recall that Apple’s iTunes Connect portal suffered from a similar problem earlier this year when developers started seeing apps and login names belonging to different developers. In another case, emails sent to iCloud address were delivered to the wrong users.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

You’re reading 9to5Mac — experts who break news about Apple and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Mac on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author

Mike Beasley's favorite gear