Facebook announced today that a new feature rolling out soon across its mobile apps will allow you to hide posts from ex automatically (or hide your posts from them) when you change your relationship status back to single. You can also hide all traces of your past relationship from the public.
Now when you decide that you are never, ever, ever getting back together, the Facebook app will suggest that maybe it’s time to “take a break” and present several new options.
Among those other options are the ability to go back and edit any posts in which you’ve tagged your ex, either on an individual basis, or en masse. You can adjust your privacy settings to block your ex from seeing any of your posts, or set it so that they can only see posts they’re tagged in, or which are shared publicly or on a mutual friend’s page.
Finally, you’ll also have the option of automatically applying a new filter to your news feed that removes posts from your ex. This will also remove automatic prompts to tag your message them.
None of these settings will be announced publicly, and your ex won’t be told you’ve made any changes.
Facebook says these options are now in testing in the United States. They’re accepting feedback from users who try the function out and will be rolling it out to additional users soon.