Whether you are selling your iPhone, having issues, or just want a fresh start, there are a variety of reasons you may need to reset it. Let’s take a look at how to delete everything from your iPhone and restore it to factory settings.

AirPods

An important thing to keep in mind as you’re working on resetting your iPhone is that you’ll need to be connected to a Wi-Fi or cellular network and know your Apple ID password (the one you’re using for iCloud) if you have Find My iPhone enabled.

Also, make sure you have your iPhone backed up or have your important information saved somewhere before you reset your device. The images below show these steps for iPhone, but the exact same steps work for iPad as well.

Before going through the process of resetting your iPhone it’s best to sign out of the App Store and iCloud (although iOS will have you sign out of iCloud later if you don’t do it now). Also, don’t forget to unpair your Apple Watch if you have one.

How to reset your iPhone

  1. Tap on Settings and then tap on General.
  2. Swipe down to the very bottom and tap on Reset.
  3. Tap Erase All Content and Settings, enter your passcode (if you have one).
  4. Tap Erase iPhone, Tap Erase iPhone again to confirm.
  5. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Erase.

You’re all set, all the information on your iPhone has been erased and you should see the iOS welcome screen like when you first purchased your iPhone. At this point you are good to hand your device to someone else, restore a backup, or set up your iPhone as new.

For more help with your Apple products, check out our how to guide and our other recent how to articles:


About the Author

Michael Potuck's favorite gear