Did Apple used the feared "kill switch" for the first time on the "Hottest Girls" application?  We have it on authority (we didn’t download the app ourselves – swear!) that when you try to open the app, it now says:

It just shows black screen saying: "This version no longer works. You should delete this version." I downloaded it just to see if it’s true they added nudity and now I got an app doing nothing. Does Apple do refunds??

Apple hasn’t actually killed an app before as far as we recall.  Even the Netshare.app that allows you to tether to AT&T works long after it was removed from the App Store.

Steve Jobs told the Wall St. Journal:

Mr. Jobs confirmed such a capability exists, but argued that Apple needs it in case it inadvertently allows a malicious program — one that stole users’ personal data, for example — to be distributed to iPhones through the App Store. "Hopefully we never have to pull that lever, but we would be irresponsible not to have a lever like that to pull," he says.

About the Author