Over time, your Mac will likely build up a large amount of networks that it has connected to. Whether you want to do some general tidying up, or have a specific network you want to forget, follow along below.

Whoosh! Screen Cleaner

In addition to manually forgetting wireless networks, we’ll dive into how to adjust your Mac’s settings on how it handles discovering and connecting to new networks. We’ll also look at how to set priority levels for networks.

Mac: How to forget wireless networks

  1. Open System Preferences
  2. Click Network, then Advanced…
  3. Select a network from the list and click the “-” icon just below the list to forget/remove it

Follow along with the images below for more details:

Before you head in to forget any networks, you can opt to change the settings for automatically joining a given network, and to have your Mac ask to join new networks.

Select a network you’d like to forget and click the “-” icon as shown below. You can select multiple networks by holding the command key while clicking and batch the process 😄.

If for some reason you want to forget all networks, pressing cmd + A works to select all followed by clicking the – button.

To assign network priority, drag the most important one(s) to the top of the list.

For more help getting the most out of your Apple devices, check out our how to guide as well as the following articles:


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

About the Author