Whether you’ve been sharing your Mac with someone or just need to tidy up your machine, follow along below for how to delete user accounts on macOS.

Whoosh! Screen Cleaner

We’ll take a look at removing the guest user account as well as deleting any other users you may have on your Mac. First let’s dive into how to delete admin or standard user accounts.

Mac: How to delete a user on macOS

  1. Make sure you’re logged in to a user account with admin priviledges
  2. Open System Preferences and click Users
  3. Select the account you’d like to delete and tap the – icon just under Login Options
  4. Choose whether you’d like to save or delete the home folder
  5. Click Delete User

Follow along below for a more detailed walkthrough:

You may need to click the lock in the bottom left corner and enter your password to make changes.

After you’ve selected the user account you’d like to delete, click the – icon in bottom left corner just below Login Options.

Next, you’ll have three choices for what you’d like to do with the home folder.

Depending on how much data is contained on the user account, it may take some time for it to be deleted.

If you’d like to remove the guest user account option, click on Guest User and uncheck the box at the top as shown below.

For more help getting the most out of your Apple devices, check out our how to guide as well as the following articles:


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

About the Author