Whether you have a specific network you want your iPhone or iPad to forget or would like to do some general tidying up, follow with the walkthrough below.

Whoosh! Screen Cleaner

Along with manually forgetting wireless networks, we’ll look at how to customize your iPhone or iPad network settings for how it handles connecting to networks.

iPhone & iPad: How to forget wireless networks

  1. Open System Preferences and tap Wi-Fi
  2. Tap the information icon to the right of the network you’re connected to
  3. Tap Forget This Network at the top

If you’d like to remove other previously known/used networks, you can do that from your Mac if you use iCloud Keychain. Check out our tutorial on that here. For now there doesn’t seem to be a way to do it directly on iPhone or iPad, except for the network you’re currently connected to.

As shown above, if you’d prefer your device to remember a network, but not auto-join it, toggle the switch off next to Auto-Join.

For more help getting the most out of your Apple devices, check out our how to guide as well as the following articles:


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

About the Author