Following an update to version 2.0 for the YouTube iOS app yesterday, users have noticed that Google appears to have turned on shared account logins for at least YouTube and the recently released AdSense app. That means logging into one app will automatically log you into the other without having to re-enter your account and password. Although the majority of Google’s iOS apps require users to sign into a single Google account used across its services, up until now each app required users to enter their account info when when launching for the first time.

Google didn’t list the new feature when it updated the YouTube app or in the release notes for the new AdSense app, but the support page for YouTube does note, “If you’ve signed in with another Google app on your iOS device, you may see this account listed.” Removing an account in either the AdSense or YouTube app will also remove it from the other app if installed on your device, but Google doesn’t offer users any control over the feature as of yet. Google doesn’t mention support for any specific apps, but we’d imagine this is likely a feature that will make its way to other Google iOS apps in the near future.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news:

You’re reading 9to5Mac — experts who break news about Apple and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Mac on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel

About the Author